German States 2022

The federal government in Germany splits the country into sixteen states. In addition to federal law, each state has its own set of laws that must be followed.

Some of these states date back to the early Middle Ages, while others were founded after World War II. They were recognized as such upon the unification of the country in 1990. In all, three of these 16 states are known as city-states.

Each German state has a capital city and a state flag unique to that particular area. In alphabetical order, these are the 16 German cities:

  1. Baden-Wurttemberg
  2. Bavaria
  3. Berlin
  4. Brandenburg
  5. Bremen
  6. Hamburg
  7. Hesse
  8. Lower Saxony
  9. Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania
  10. North Rhine-Westphalia
  11. Rhineland-Palatinate
  12. Saarland
  13. Saxony
  14. Saxony-Anhalt
  15. Schleswig-Holstein
  16. Thuringia

Bavaria, Lower Saxony, and Baden-Wurttemberg are the three biggest states in terms of area. Only Bremen, Germany’s smallest state, has a total area of less than 420 square kilometers.

With a total population of almost 17 million, North Rhine-Westphalia is the biggest state in terms of size. Bavaria and Baden-Wurttemberg are the other two German states with at least 10 million populations.

Bremen is the smallest state in terms of population, with just 671,000 residents. Second-least populated state in Germany and the only other state with a population of fewer than one million inhabitants is Saarland.

While all of the states mentioned above have been members of the Federal Republic of Germany since 1949, only North Rhine-Westphalia and Lower Saxony can claim to be older than 1949.

Country2022 Population

Also Checkout: Gay Friendly Countries 2022

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top