Caribbean Countries 2022

Nearly all of the world’s islands are clustered together in one area known as the Caribbean. The Caribbean Sea, which separates the Atlantic Ocean into two, is where the nations in this portion of the globe are located.

As far west as Central America in the Caribbean Sea, Africa sits to the east of the Caribbean Sea.

Because they will not be part of any continent, the Caribbean nations are all islands. There are thirteen Caribbean nations in all if you consider every country in the region. This figure solely considers nations and their territories that are considered separate from one another.

The Caribbean is home to nearly 7,000 distinct islands if you, including even the islands that aren’t part of any one country. Many of the islands in the area include

The Caribbean may be broken down into three different sections to make the sheer number of islands seem more manageable.

It’s possible to make sense of the enormous number of islands by dividing them into three distinct groups: the Greater Antilles, the Lucayan Archipelago, and the Lesser Antilles. Five of the twenty-six Caribbean island nations will be covered in this article.

The Bahamas

The archipelago of the Bahamas is just off the coast of Jamaica. The Bahamas, a collection of more than 700 islands, are located on the other side of the Caribbean Sea from Cuba.

The Bahamas’ 5,406 square miles of land support a population of around 345,736 people. Nassau, the capital of the Bahamas, is located on the island of New Providence. The archipelago’s eleventh-largest island is New Providence.

However, three additional common languages are spoken in the Bahamas: English, Spanish, and Creole.

American Sign Language (ASL) and Bahamas Creole English (BCE). Haitian Creole and Mandarin Chinese are two more languages spoken in the Bahamas. However, they are more widely spoken by immigrants.


Physically, Cuba is the biggest Caribbean nation. Cuba has around 11,204,351 people living in an area of 42,804 square miles. Havana is the capital of Cuba. Spanish is the most widely spoken language in Cuba.

Cuba Sign Language and Lucumi, a language spoken by an ethnic group in Cuba, are two additional widely spoken languages. Many Cuban residents speak Catalan and Corsican, even though these languages are not recognized as official in the Caribbean countries.


Based simply on land area, Jamaica is the third-largest Caribbean nation in terms of the total population. Despite its size, Jamaica has a limited amount of open land for settlements and other forms of human habitation. This is because the country’s mountainous terrain dominates the landscape.

Only around 724 square miles of the island’s total land area may be utilized for agriculture, farming, or production. 83% of Jamaica is too steep and sparsely populated to support agriculture or animals at any density level.

The various languages spoken in Jamaica include English, the country’s most widely spoken and official language. Patois, or Jamaican Creole, comes in a close second to English in terms of language. Arawak is an indigenous Taino language spoken by a small group of people in the Caribbean.

Trinidad and Tobago

To put it another way, the twin islands of Trinidad and Tobago should be considered a single destination. The islands of Trinidad and Tobago are technically two countries, yet they are referred to as a single entity by the international community.

Located northeast of Trinidad, the bigger island, lies Tobago, a tiny republic. Two uninhabited isles lie just off the coast of Venezuela, a South American nation. The Gulf de Pana, the Atlantic Ocean, and the Caribbean Sea are nearby.

Tobago and Trinidad are home to seven spoken languages, three of which are spoken only by a very tiny fraction of people. English, Chinese, North Levantine Spoken Arabic, and American Sign Language (ASL) are Trinidad and Tobago’s most commonly spoken languages.

St. Thomas and St. Croix

A single archipelago, the U.S. Virgin Islands consists of a scattering of small islands. Despite their near vicinity, the British Virgin Islands and the U.S. Virgin Islands should not be mistaken.

Saint John, Saint Croix, Saint Thomas, and Water Island are part of the U.S. Virgin Islands. Besides these four main islands, there are additional fifty-something minor islands also part of the USVI. The U.S. Virgin Islands cover around 133 square miles when all of their territories are included.

Also See: Arctic Countries 2022

Because of the territory’s close ties to the United States, it’s no surprise that English is the most widely spoken language in the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The U.S. Virgin Islands also speak a variety of other languages, including Virgin Island Creole, Spanish, Indo-European dialects, French Creole, French, and several Asian dialects.

Country2022 Population
British Virgin Islands30.5960
Saint Martin39.7300
Turks and Caicos Islands39.7410
Saint Kitts and Nevis53.8710
Cayman Islands67.2770
Antigua and Barbuda99.5090
United States Virgin Islands103.9710
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines111.5510
Saint Lucia185.1130
Trinidad and Tobago1406.5850
Puerto Rico2829.8120
Dominican Republic11056.3700

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top