Western European Countries 2022

Fifty-nine nations make up the continent of Europe. The continent of Europe is split into regions, as is the case with most long, flat expanses of land.

There are a total of nine separate European regions. There are seven nations in Western Europe, but the controversy over whether countries are genuinely part of Western Europe never ends. Western Europe’s seven most widely acknowledged members, from north to south, are as follows:

  • The United Kingdom
  • Luxembourg
  • Ireland
  • The Netherlands
  • Monaco
  • Belgium
  • France

The United Kingdom

Three bodies of water surround the United Kingdom, making it an island. Its boundaries are defined by the Atlantic Ocean, the Irish Sea, and the North Sea. Scotland, Wales, England, and Northern Ireland together make up the United Kingdom, a sovereign state in the legal sense.

It’s estimated that there are 55,620,000 people in England as of 2019. The pound sterling, the currency used in the U.K., is worth around $1.33 in the United States.

Compared to the U.S. dollar, the pound is worth 30 per cent more than the pound. The United Kingdom excels in the trading business, with the United States and Japan being the two nations with which the U.K. deals the most.

Fishing is also a major source of revenue for the United Kingdom because of the country’s geological makeup.

As with other European nations, the United Kingdom is a progressive location. Although only a tiny proportion of the population has English as their first language, most of the population is fluent in it. You’ll hear Scots, Welsh, Angloromani, Irish, Shelta, Cornish, and Scottish Gaelic, among others, throughout the United Kingdom.


Luxembourg is so small on a map that you can miss it if you don’t pay attention. Despite its modest population and geographical area, Luxembourg is a nation in Western Europe. Because of its geographical location is sandwiched between three large European countries: Belgium, Germany, and France.

People in Luxembourg speak English, French, and Luxembourgish in the Western European nation. Luxembourg attracts many immigrants from Portugal, Belgium, France, Germany, and Italy because of its closeness to these countries.

Consequently, Luxembourg’s individuals can communicate in various languages, including Italian, German, and Portuguese. The Euro is the official currency of Luxembourg, like many other E.U. countries.


Ireland is a landlocked country like the United Kingdom. The United Kingdom, the Irish Sea, St. George’s Channel, and the North Channel isolate Ireland from the rest of Western Europe.

Ireland, like North and South Korea, has been split into two separate nations that are no longer legally linked. Until 1921, the island of Ireland was seen as a single nation by most of the population.

While the people of southern Ireland battled for independence from the United Kingdom, Northern Ireland remained a component of the Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland.

As a consequence, Ireland has split down the middle, with Northern Ireland becoming part of the United Kingdom while the rest of the country, the Republic of Ireland, became independent. Even in the face of such a dramatic break in Ireland’s cohesiveness, the whole island is still considered Western Europe.

Anglo-Irish and Gaelic are the two most widely used languages in the Republic of Ireland. Irish is a more colloquial term for the latter language used by those who reside in Ireland. Because there are three distinct varieties of Gaelic, referring to the language as Irish distinguishes it from the other two.

The Netherlands

Yes, the Netherlands and Holland are different names for the same nation. That’s exactly what I was going to say. Holland or The Netherlands is often used to refer to both.

Since 1806, Holland has been used to define the whole nation, even though it is the official name of the Netherlands. The provinces of Noord- and Zuid-Holland generated more economic value than any other provinces.

Therefore they became synonymous with Holland. But despite the widespread use of the term ‘Holland’, the Netherlands is the country’s official name.

People in the Netherlands use the Euro as their currency, and Dutch is the most widely spoken language in the country. However, English, Yiddish, Frisian, and Papiamento are the four most widely spoken languages in the Netherlands.

There’s a good reason why you haven’t heard of the last two languages stated. Official languages in the Netherlands are Dutch, English, and Yiddish, which the government recognizes.


Monaco, located on the coast of France, is in direct rivalry with Luxembourg regarding the overall area. Despite its small size, Monaco is a member of the European Union. Monaco is a great choice for those looking for a luxurious holiday since it is located in the French Riviera.

Due to Monaco’s proximity to France, French is the most often spoken language in the Principality. English and Italian are other widely spoken languages in the nation.

Like many European nations, Monaco uses the Euro as its currency like many other European countries. Most nations in the European Union engage in this kind of currency exchange regularly.


Other European nations almost totally border Belgian territory. Only the North Sea, on Belgium’s northern border, provides access to the country’s water resources.

The country’s capital, Brussels, is a hive of activity and a favourite destination for business travellers. It’s noteworthy that English is not one of Belgium’s three official languages. The most widely spoken languages in Belgium are French, German, and Dutch.

In 2002, the Belgian franc was replaced by the Euro as the country’s currency. Since most Western European nations are now utilizing the Euro, it’s safe to infer that Belgium did so to make international trade between the country and its neighbours simpler.

If Belgium’s government had opted to keep the Belgian franc, residents of the nation would have had to exchange their francs for Euros anytime they travelled outside of Belgium.


The three bodies of water coast surround France, making it a picturesque destination. The eastern maritime boundary of France is formed by the Mediterranean Sea, while the western maritime border is formed by the Bay of Biscay and the English Channel.

You’d be accurate if you guessed that France is another country that uses the Euro. When studying French money, you may come across a currency known as the CFP franc.

Also See: Western Countries 2022

Although this isn’t the official currency of France, the nation still has a slew of overseas colonies. France’s overseas colonies utilize the CFP franc as their monetary unit.

French is the country’s primary language. When you go to the Basque Country in France, you’ll find that every section of the country speaks French. Residents speak a distinct dialect of the Basque language of the area. France does not recognize Basque as an official language since it is so rare.

Country2022 Population
United Kingdom68497.9070

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top