Rugby World Cup Host Countries 2022

Men’s rugby union teams worldwide compete in the Rugby World Cup, an international championship held every four years. New Zealand and Australia hosted the inaugural Rugby World Cup in 1987.

Rugby union is a team sport played between two 15-man teams. The game is played on a rectangular field with H-shaped goalposts using an oval-shaped ball.

Rugby union is a well-liked sport played by both males and females of all ages all over the globe. The game’s first known incarnation dates back to the late 1800s in England.

Also See: Religion by Country 2022

The rugby union is governed by World Rugby, which has 101 full members and 18 associate members. An estimated 6 million people play rugby union throughout the globe.

Rugby, despite its widespread popularity, is not a recognized Olympic sport. Since 1900, the Olympics have included rugby in the Summer and Winter Games.

As of this year, there have been four World Rugby Cup winners. Three of the victories have come from New Zealand, two from Australia and South Africa, and one from England.

This year’s World Rugby Cup will be hosted in Tokyo from September 20th to November 2nd at the Ajinomoto Stadium. A game between the winners and losers will be played at Nissan Stadium in Yokohama, Kanagawa.

Each of the twenty teams will vie for the crown. New Zealand is the current reigning champion after defeating Australia in the World Rugby Cup finals in 2015.

France will host the World Rugby Cup in 2023, after the conclusion of the current competition in Japan in 2019. Including the 2023 World Rugby Cup, France will have hosted the event three times, more than any other nation.

CountryHosting Year2022 Population
France2023, 2007, 199165584.5180
New Zealand2011, 19874898.2030
Australia2003, 198726068.7920
South Africa199560756.1350
United Kingdom199168497.9070

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top