Prime Ministers Of Laos Since 1975

Southeast Asia is home to the country of Laos. Laos’s current government came to power after the Laotian Civil War, which lasted from 1953 to 1975.

The Communist Pathet Lao movement won the war, and King Sisavang Vatthana, who ruled from 1907 to? Gave up his throne. In August of 1991, the country’s people agreed on a constitution.

This constitution, among other things, makes the roles and powers of the prime minister and the different parts of a government official.

Here are some of Laos’s Prime Ministers:

Kayson Phomvihane

Kaysone Phomvihane was the first Prime Minister of Laos when the Communist Pathet Lao was in charge. He lived from 1920 to 1992.

He is also the prime minister who has been in office the longest. He was in office before the five-year limit was put in place.

He was the prime minister from December 8, 1975, until August 15, 1991, a total of 15 years and 250 days. From 1955 to 1992, Phomvihane was the country’s first general secretary.

From 1991 to 1992, he was also the country’s second president for a short time. Kaysone Phomvihane went to law school at Hanoi University.

Still, he and Nouhak Phoumsavan, another future Pathet Lao leader who lived from 1910 to 2008, dropped out to fight the colonists and soon after joined the Pathet Lao movement.

During his fight against the French and later during the civil war, he was the minister of defense for the Neo Lao Issara, which was the political arm of the Pathet Lao. By 1955, he was the leader of the Pathet Lao.

He had helped set up their headquarters at Sam Neua, an essential step in his rise to power. As the leader of the Pathet Lao, he helped the communists win the civil war and became prime minister afterward.

As prime minister, Kaysone Phomvihane’s most significant achievement was making ties with communist Vietnam stronger and helping to start the process of drawing the border between the two countries, which was finally finished in 2007.

After he died, the government built a museum in Vientiane, the capital, to honor Kaysone. Vietnam helped pay for it.

Thongloun Sisoulith is an (Incumbent)

Thongloun Sisoulith is the seventh Prime Minister of Laos and is still in office. On April 20, 2016, he became the country’s new prime minister. From 1962 to 1969, Sisoulith went to school at the Pedagogical College of Neo Lao Hak Sat in Houaphan.

Then, from 1973 to 1978, he went to school at the Herzen State Pedagogical University of Russia in Saint Petersburg.

After that, he became a professor at Vientiane University. His first job in politics was as Secretary to the Minister of Education and Director of the External Relations Division at the Ministry of Education.

Then, from 1981 to 1984, he returned to Russia to get his Ph.D. in the history of international relations from the Russian Academy of Sciences in Moscow.

After graduating, he worked his way up in the government, first as the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, then as the Minister of Labor and Social Welfare.

By 1998, he was a member of the National Assembly. In 2001, he was named Deputy Prime Minister, a job he held until 2016 when he was named Prime Minister.

Also See : 10 Best Rooftop Pools in Melbourne

He was also the President of the State Planning Committee and the Minister of Foreign Affairs while he was the Deputy Prime Minister.

How the Prime Minister of Laos is chosen and what they do:

Laos’s president puts forward a prime minister candidate, and the National Assembly votes on that person. The prime minister serves for five years.

The prime minister of Laos is in charge of the government and has the most critical job in the country’s Central Government. The Lao People’s Revolutionary Party’s Politburo has nine members, and the prime minister is one of them.

Politburo is one of the leading groups that decide how the government runs. The National Assembly is in charge of making sure the government is doing its job.

The Standing Committee of the National Assembly keeps an eye on the prime minister, and the deputies of the National Assembly can ask them questions.

Laos’s Prime Ministers Since 1975

Prime Ministers of the Lao People’s Democratic RepublicTerm in Office
Kaysone Phomvihane1975-1991
Khamtai Siphandon1991-1998
Sisavath Keobounphanh1998-2001
Bounnhang Vorachith2001-2006
Bouasone Bouphavanh2006-2010
Thongsing Thammavong2010-2016
Thongloun Sisoulith (Incumbent)2016-Present

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top