North African Countries 2022

There are five primary areas on the continent of Africa based on the four cardinal directions. North Africa, South Africa, East Africa, West Africa, and Central Africa are the five regions of Africa.

For the time being, let’s concentrate on the nations of North Africa. Countries may be more easily identified as belonging to a certain area of Africa if they are broken down into five regions rather than just noting that the nation is located in Africa.

As part of this post, we’ll provide some background information on a handful of Africa’s northernmost nations. From one source to another, North Africa is not classified as including the same nations as the rest of the region.

It’s very uncommon for there to be minor discrepancies in the North American nations listed by different organizations.

This is because all of Africa’s countries fit together like a jigsaw. As a result, Africa’s northern, southern, central, eastern, and western areas are difficult to categorize.

There is a lack of clear explanation about the areas of Africa, which is why some publications include Central African nations or a few Western and Eastern countries in the mix.

The North African area is home to several waterways and bodies of water that border the coasts of several nations that make up the region.

North Africa is bordered on the west by the Atlantic Ocean and on the east by the Red Sea and the Suez Canal.

It is generally agreed upon that there are twelve rivers in North Africa. Atbarah, Bahr el Zeraf, the Blue Nile, the Bou Regreg, Chelif, Didessa, Draa, Moulouya, Nile, Er-Rbia, Sebou, and White Nile are among the many rivers that flow through Egypt.

There are seven nations under the umbrella term North Africa in this article.

Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, and Western Sahara are the nations in this group. Let’s concentrate on three of the seven nations in North Africa instead of going all in.

Starting with Algeria, we’ll go on to a brief discussion of Morocco before getting into the specifics of Western Sahara.

Table of Contents


Besides being in the Maghreb Region, the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria is also located in the northernmost section of North Africa, further dividing the nations of North Africa.

Algiers, Algeria’s capital city, is located at 36°42′ N and 3°13′ E. There are 919,595 square miles in Algeria. According to the United Nations, Algeria has a population density of around 47 persons per square mile of land area.

All five of Africa’s regions are covered by Algeria, and Algeria is also the world’s most populous Arab nation. Algeria is the tenth-largest nation in the world when measured against all other countries combined.

Russia, Canada, China, the United States, Brazil, Australia, India, Argentina, and Kazakhstan are Algeria’s nine nations listed above.

There are now twenty empires in Algeria, which is a result of the country’s fragmentation. There are still many tribes and dynasties in Africa, and individuals who share a lineage prefer to live together in what you may call communities.

Even though most of Algeria’s many dynasties came to the country and established their empires after shifting to this North African country, the Berbers are the only Algerian ethnic group that has always lived in the nation.

Because Berbers are Algeria’s original inhabitants, they are on a level with Native Americans in the United States.

Algiers is home to a total of 19 other empires: the Abbasid, Aghlabid, and the Almohad; the Almoravid; the Byzantine; the Carthaginian; the Fatimid; the French Colonial; the Hammadids; the Idrisids; the Numidian; the Ottoman; the Phoenicians; the Roman; the Rustamid; and Zirids.


Rabat, the country’s capital and the largest seaside city, is the country’s capital. Despite its status as the country’s capital, Rabat is not the biggest city in Morocco. That honor goes to Casablanca, Morocco’s capital city.

This North African nation, formally known as the Kingdom of Morocco, shares its borders with Algeria within the Maghreb area of Africa.

French, Spanish, and English are the three most widely spoken languages in Morocco, outside the country’s official languages of Berber and Arabic.

You may understand why Arabic and Berber are the official languages of Morocco when you consider that the country’s population is almost exclusively Arabic and Berber.

Western Sahara

The North Atlantic Ocean may be seen from Western Sahara, located on Africa’s northwest coast. Western Sahara borders Morocco to the north and Mauritania to the south.

Algeria, a neighboring North African nation, shares just a tiny piece of its northeastern border with Morocco. Based on population alone, Western Sahara ranks as the 117th-largest nation in the world.

Also See: Nordic Countries 2022

There are 580,230 individuals in Western Sahara as of 2019, which is less than 0.01 percent of the world’s population. The land-to-person ratio is ideal, with a population density of six persons. Approximately 102,703 square miles make up the country’s overall landmass.

Country2022 Population
Western Sahara626.1610

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top