Brazil States 2022

There are 26 states in Brazil, including the Federal District. The 26 states are spread out evenly throughout the country’s five zones. The southern, eastern, northern, northern-eastern, and central-western areas. See how the states are broken up by area below.

South Region

Approximately 30 million people live in the three states that make up Brazil’s South Region. The population of Parana (PR) is about 11.5 million. Curitiba is the nation’s capital.

With a population of almost 11 million people, Rio Grande do Sul (RS) is the second most populous state in the South Region.

The city of Porto Alegre serves as its capital. Lastly, Santa Catarina is the South Region state, with a population of approximately 7.25 million people. The capital of the state of Santa Catarina is the city of Florianópolis.

Brazil States 2022

Southeast Region

There are 4 states in this area. The state of Rio de Janeiro (RJ) is the third most populated in Brazil, with 17.4 million people living there. Rio de Janeiro is the state capital and Brazil’s second most populated city.

The state of Minas Gerais (MG) has 21.3% of Brazil’s population, making it the country’s second most populated. Belo Horizonte is the capital city.

In the state of Esprito Santo (ES), the main city of Vitória is home to more than 4 million people. With 46,3 million residents, So Paulo (SP) easily takes the title of Brazil’s most populated state. Including the surrounding metropolitan region, the population of Brazil’s capital, So Paulo, is around 22 million.

North Region

The northern part of the country has seven states. Pará (PA) has the most people, with 8.7 million, making it the biggest. The city of Amazonas (AM) is home to more than 4.2 million people, making it the second most populous in Brazil.

About 1.8 million people live in Rondônia (RO), making it the third most populated city in Brazil. Acre (AC), Roraima (RR), Tocantins (TO), and Amapá (AMAPA) are the other four states in the area.

Northeast Region

Brazil States 2022

There are nine states in the northeast, and they all have populations in the millions. Bahia, the biggest state in the area, is home to 14.9% of the total population. The state with the second-highest population is Ceará (CE), with 9.2 million inhabitants.

With 7.1 million people, Maranho (MA) is the third most populous state. Parab, Sergipe, Alagoas, Piau, and Piau are the other states in this area.

Central-west Region

The Central-West area includes these four states. Over 3 million Brazilians call Distrito Federal, where Braslia is located, home.

With over 7.1 million people calling Goiás (GO) home, it far outnumbers any other state in the area combined. Also located in this area, are the states of Mato Grosso and Mato Grosso do Sul.

Also See: Best Countries For Expats 2022

Brazil’s five wealthiest states are Sao Paulo, the Federal District, Rio de Janeiro, Minas Gerais, and Esprito Santo. It is no coincidence that Brazil’s four richest states are located in the southeast, along with the country’s capital, Distrito Federal.

However, Brazil’s poorest states include Piau, Maranho, Alagoas, Parabá, and Ceará.

Amazonas (1,570,745.7 km2), Para (1,247,689.5 km2), Mato Grosso (903,357.9 km2), Minas Gerais (586,528.3 km2), and Bahia (564,692.7 km2) are the five largest states in terms of land area.

Distrito Federal (5,822.1 km2), Sergipe (21,910.3 km2), Alagoas (27,767.7 km2), Rio de Janeiro (43,696.1 km2), and Esprito Santo are the five smallest states in Brazil in terms of land size.

Country2022 Population

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top