What Is The Grey Cup?

The Canadian Football League (CFL) championship game and the trophy given to the winning club are referred to by the term Grey Cup. The East and West Divisions of the Canadian Football League compete against one another in this sport.

The contest is Canada’s biggest yearly athletic event and is aired the most. The Toronto Argonauts have the most Grey Cup victories, having done it 17 times since 1909. The 105th Grey Cup, played in Ottawa, Ontario, was held on November 26, 2017.

Toronto Argonauts defeated Calgary Stampeders 27 to 24 to win the game. The Canadian Hall of Fame board of directors, who serve as trustees, maintains and oversees the Grey Cup. In 1909, Governor Earls Grey donated it to the Canadian Football League.


Canadian hockey amateur teams originally played for the Stanley Cup on December 4, 1909, when the University of Toronto team won the championship, and was used from 1893 until Governor Earl presented the Grey Cup. Since the cup’s debut in 1909, there have been no competitions.

The first was from 1916 to 1918, when Canada took part in World War I, and the second was in 1919 when rugby unions showed little interest and the Western Union and the Canadian Rugby Union disagreed over the football regulations.

In 1920, the contests were restarted. The match resumed around the nation’s military facilities during WWII in 1942, although it was restricted to military people only during this period. Union activities were stopped during this time.

Expansion in the United States

1993 saw the admission of the Sacramento Gold Miners, a Canadian league franchise with mediocre success. As a result, the league welcomed the Shreveport Pirates, Las Vegas Pose, and Baltimore Stallions in 1994.

The American expansion was abandoned due to the inconsistent play of American clubs and the financial problems accompanying the creation of the National Football League (NFL) Baltimore Ravens.

After the American clubs were eliminated, the Canadian Football League underwent a restructuring in 1996. There were initially nine teams, with players from the American teams being divided up among the Canadian teams.

The CFL received a $3 million no-interest loan from the NFL, which assisted with their financial difficulties, while the NLF was allowed access to the players.

The era of Mark Cohon

Mark Cohon governed the Canadian Football League from 2007 to 2015. The CFL’s finances were stable during this time; stadiums were expanded and modernized, the Grey Cup was celebrated for its 100th anniversary, and new broadcast deals were made.

Before he departed office in 2014, Mark negotiated a new five-year collective bargaining agreement between the CFL and the CLFPA.

The era of Jeffry Orridge

Jeffry served as commissioner in this period, which lasted from 2015 to 2017. Additionally, the CFL altered its slogan and logo. During this period, the nine teams switched their websites and their outfits.

The CFL adopted a new drug policy during this time, and the CLFPA was first implemented. On June 15, 2017, Jeffrey resigned from the NFL, and on June 29, 2017, Randy Ambrosie was appointed as the next commissioner.


There are nine current clubs in the Canadian Football League, with four in the East Division and five in the West Division. The teams in the East Division are the Montreal Alouettes, who play at Percival Molson Memorial Stadium in Montreal, Quebec.

The Toronto Argonauts, who play at BMO Field Stadium in Toronto, Ontario, and the Ottawa Redblacks, who play at TD Place Stadium in Ottawa, Ontario. And the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, who play at Tim Hortons Field Stadium in Hamilton, Ontario.

The clubs in the West Division include the BC Lions, Saskatchewan Roughriders, Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Edmonton Eskimos, and Calgary Stampeders.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top