The World’s Youngest Countries

Around the earth, there are around 195 officially recognized nations. Some of these nations have been in existence for thousands of years.

Other countries, on the other hand, were created more recently. The world’s youngest nations are examined in depth in this article.

1. South Sudan – 2011

South Sudan is situated in East Africa’s central region, with a total land area of 239,285 sq miles and a population of 12.23 million people.

After decades of strife between the two countries, this country was formally founded on July 9, 2011, when it seceded from Sudan. South Sudan is at odds with Sudan over control of some oil deposits, despite its legal independence.

South Sudan has also been engulfed in civil conflict since 2013, with an estimated 300,000 people murdered and another 3 million refugees.

2. Kosovo in the year 2008

Kosovo is situated on Europe’s Balkan Peninsula, with a total area of 4,212 square miles and a population of approximately 1.9 million people.

This nation declared independence from Serbia in February 2008, but its claim has been contested, and it is only formally recognized by 110 of the United Nations’ 193 members.

Throughout history and under the Ottoman Empire, Kosovo was regarded as an independent political territory. However, when the Ottoman Empire disintegrated in 1913, Kosovo was split between Montenegro and Serbia.

All of these nations became part of Yugoslavia after World War I, which lasted until 1992. Kosovo was considered an independent entity under Yugoslavia.

This country has been a member of the World Bank and International Monetary Fund since its proclamation of independence.

3.Montenegro – 2006

Montenegro is a country in Southeastern Europe that spans 5,333 square miles and has a population of 678,931. It is situated on the Balkan Peninsula and has a total area of 5,333 square miles.

Following the dissolution of Yugoslavia in 1992, Montenegro merged with Serbia to establish the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, which was refused UN recognition.

The name of this country was changed to Serbia and Montenegro in 2003. On May 23, 2006, a referendum separated Montenegro from Serbia, with slightly over 55% of the population voting in favor of independence.

On June 3rd of that year, this nation proclaimed independence and was recognized by the European Union and permanent members of the United Nations.

4. Serbia – 2006

Serbia is a country in Europe that spans the central and southeastern regions, with a total size of 29,913 square miles. Serbia, on the other hand, does not recognize Kosovo’s independence, hence its entire territorial size is disputed.

Serbia’s total size grows to 34,116 square miles when Kosovo is included. Serbia has a population of a little over 7 million people, not counting Kosovo.

Until the dissolution of Yugoslavia in 1992, this nation was a component of that political entity.

Serbia and Montenegro became a unified political territory after the breakup of Yugoslavia.

The Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was the name given to this territory at first, but the UN refused to recognize it, and it was subsequently renamed Serbia and Montenegro.

After Montenegro voted for independence, the two nations formally split on June 3, 2006.

5.Timor-Leste – 2002

East Timor is a country in Southeast Asia’s Maritime Southeast region, with a population of 1.167 million people and a land area of 5,400 square miles.

Other countries have colonized and occupied this country in the past. East Timor, for example, was controlled as a Portuguese colony from the 1500s until 1975.

Indonesia invaded the nation and claimed it as an extra province only one and a half weeks after fighting for and achieving independence. East Timor did not regain independence until May 20, 2002.

6. Palau -1994

Palau is an island nation in the Pacific Ocean with a total of 340 islands and a land area of 177 square miles. This nation also has a population of 21,503 people.

Palau fell under Spanish authority during the 16th century period of European discovery and colonialism. This occupation continued until 1899 when the region was acquired by Imperial Germany and renamed German New Guinea.

During World War I, Japan occupied the territory until 1947, when the United States acquired sovereignty as part of the Pacific Islands Trust Territory.

The Federated States of Micronesia was formed in 1979 when many of these territories merged to become the Federated States of Micronesia. Palau, on the other hand, chose independence, which became official in 1994.

7. Eritrea is a country in Africa that was founded in 1993.

Eritrea is situated in the Horn of Africa’s northern section, with a total area of 45,400 square miles and a population of 4.954 million people.

After 46 years of being a member of the Federation of Ethiopia and Eritrea, this nation declared independence in April 1993. Eritrea was once known as Italian Eritrea and was administered by the Kingdom of Italy before joining this federation.

During WWII, however, the region was under British authority until December 1950, when Emperor Haile Selassie persuaded the United States and the United Nations of Ethiopia’s claim to the land. Between 1961 and 1991, Eritrea waged a 30-year war for independence.

8. Czech Republic – 1993

The Czech Republic is a country in central Europe with a population of roughly 10.61 million people and a total area of 30,450 square miles.

After the fall of the Soviet-led government in this country, Czechoslovakia was partitioned into two new nations on January 1, 1993, and the Czech Republic was born.

The Czech Republic is a member of the United Nations, European Union, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, and North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

9. Slovakia -1993

Slovakia has a boundary with the Czech Republic and is situated in central Europe. It has a population of about 5.43 million people and occupies an area of 18,933 square miles.

Present-day Slovakia was a part of the Kingdom of Hungary and then of Austria-Hungary as early as the 10th century AD.

This empire was disbanded after WWI. As a result, members of the Slovak and Czech ethnic groups banded together to establish Czechoslovakia, which was ultimately disbanded once communist authority ended. Slovakia became a legally independent country on January 1, 1993.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top