Formula One Grand Prix Winners By Nationality

A competition for racing automobiles is known as the Grand Prix. It was first held in France at the tail end of the 19th century and has since evolved into a test of stamina for both the driver and the automobile.

What exactly is the Grand Prix all about?

This type of racing, which began in 1950 and was controlled by the International Federation of Automobiles, came to be known as Formula One in 1950. (FIA).

Each year, there are several different races. This article examines which nations have produced the most winners of Formula One Grand Prix races throughout history.

The Most Prominent Nations

With 277 victories, the United Kingdom is the most prosperous nation in Formula One Grand Prix competition history. Nineteen separate race car drivers have managed to pull off this incredible accomplishment.

Lewis Hamilton has taken 53 of these victories to his credit. One of the most common things people say about Hamilton is that he was one of his era’s finest Formula One drivers.

He has successfully defended his Formula One World Championship title three times throughout his career. Lewis Hamilton competes for the Mercedes AMG Petronas team as a driver. Additionally, he is known for becoming the first black driver to compete in Formula One.


Regarding the number of drivers that have won the Formula One Grand Prix for their country, Germany is in the second position. Since 1950, drivers from this nation have won a total of 168 races, and there have been seven distinct winners from this country.

Formula One champion Michael Schumacher has won 91 of these races, making him the most successful driver in the sport’s history.

He has been victorious in a total of seven World Championships. Between 1991 and 2006, as well as between 2010 and 2012, he took part in races. He is no longer working.


Brazil comes in at number three on the list. The sum of this nation’s victories in Formula One Grand Prix competition is 101. This record could only be broken because of the efforts of six separate drivers.

Ayrton Senna, a Brazilian race car driver, holds the record for most victories for his country with 41. Three of these victories were at the World Championship level, and he won them in 1988, 1990, and 1991 respectively.

Senna is also famous for his ability to perform well in wet conditions, as he demonstrated at the following races: the 1984 Monaco Grand Prix, the 1985 Portuguese Grand Prix, and the 1993 European Grand Prix.


With 79 victories at Formula One Grands Prix, France is ranked fourth on the all-time winner’s list. Twelve different drivers have taken home victories in this competition. Alain Prost is considered the most successful French Formula One driver.

He won a total of 51 races while representing France in the sport. This stood as the record for the longest time until the 2001 Belgian Grand Prix, which Michael Schumacher went on to win.

When Prost joined the McLaren team in 1980, he got his start in the Formula One racing circuit. He used to be a driver, but now he is retired.


Finland is in fifth place on the list with 46 victories in Formula One Grand Prix races. A total of four different drivers have earned these victories. The current drivers representing Finland are Kimi Raikkonen and Valtteri Bottas.

During his time with Ferrari, which spanned several years, Kimi Raikkonen won four races.

A Driver of the D Nationality won the Grand Prix of Formula One

1United Kingdom25719
10United States3315
13New Zealand122
16South Africa101

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top