Countries Where Gay Marriage Is Legal 2022

SAME-Sex marriage has been the subject of eternal discussion for a long time. Others believe that a relationship and marriage between two persons of the same sex is normal and natural.

There is a belief among these advocates that a person is born homosexual rather than choosing to be thus.

Many people believe same-sex couples can do everything a heterosexual couple can, including getting married, living together, and having children, with the same ease and efficiency.

Many oppose homosexual marriage, on the other hand. Others believe this is wrong because of their religious convictions. Many believe that same-sex relationships and marriage are unnatural and may have detrimental impacts on children raised in a same-sex home.

However, homosexual marriage is still illegal in other countries throughout the globe. The government does not recognize this couple’s union as legal, even if a wedding ceremony is held.

Many countries throughout the globe have either recognized same-sex marriage, allowed civil unions between persons of the same sex, or deliberately restricted gay marriage.

There are twenty-four countries out of the eighty-eight that have approved homosexual marriage. Gay marriage is allowed in the following countries:

  1. Argentina
  2. Australia
  3. Austria
  4. Belgium
  5. Brazil
  6. Canada
  7. Colombia
  8. Denmark
  9. Finland
  10. France
  11. Germany
  12. Iceland
  13. Ireland
  14. Luxembourg
  15. Malta
  16. The Netherlands
  17. New Zealand
  18. Norway
  19. Portugal
  20. South Africa
  21. Spain
  22. Sweden
  23. The United States of America
  24. Uruguay

The Netherlands became the first nation in the world to allow homosexual marriage in 2001. It’s hard to believe that the legalization of homosexual marriage was a recent development in the world’s history.

Several other nations followed suit when the Netherlands began accepting same-sex couples as legally married. Since same-sex marriage was legal in several countries, the years in which it became lawful have been included.

  1. Belgium in 2003
  2. Spain in 2005
  3. Canada in 2005
  4. South Africa in 2006
  5. Norway in 2009
  6. Sweden in 2009
  7. Portugal in 2010
  8. Iceland in 2010
  9. Argentina in 2010
  10. Denmark in 2012
  11. Brazil in 2013
  12. France in 2013
  13. Uruguay in 2013
  14. New Zealand in 2013
  15. The United Kingdom in 2014
  16. Luxembourg in 2015
  17. The United States of America in 2015
  18. Ireland in 2015
  19. Colombia in 2016
  20. Finland in 2017
  21. Malta in 2017
  22. Germany in 2017
  23. Australia in 2017
  24. Austria in 2019

The majority of countries have a fairly clear stance on homosexual marriage. People’s views on this issue are very split since it is so divisive. The majority of nations either support or oppose homosexual marriage.

As a result, same-sex couples are only permitted to marry in some sections of certain nations which have not fully recognized gay marriage.

Currently, there are just two nations that do not allow same-sex marriage yet allow it in certain sections of the country. Gay marriage is legal in certain parts of the world, including:

  1. Mexico
  2. The United Kingdom

A total of twelve Mexican states have enacted laws that allow for homosexual marriage. In addition to Mexico City, the following cities have approved same-sex marriage. Following the year they became the first nations to allow same-sex marriage, they are arranged by the legalization date.

  1. Quintana Roo in 2012
  2. Coahuila in 2014
  3. Chihuahua in 2015
  4. Nayarit in 2015
  5. Jalisco in 2016
  6. Campeche in 2016
  7. Colima in 2016
  8. Michoacan in 2016
  9. Morelos in 2016
  10. Chiapas in 2017
  11. Puebla in 2017
  12. Baja California in 2017
  13. Nuevo León in 2019
  14. Aguascalientes in 2019

A total of eleven countries do not recognize marriage between people of the same sex but instead see it as a civil union or a partnership. Among them are…

  1. Chile
  2. Croatia
  3. Cyprus
  4. The Czech Republic
  5. Ecuador
  6. Estonia
  7. Greece
  8. Hungary
  9. Italy
  10. Slovenia
  11. Switzerland

There are a lot more countries that don’t allow homosexual marriage than there are that do, which might change in the future as countries improve. In 2021, keep an eye on the following nations for developments towards marriage equality…

  1. Chile
  2. Czech Republic
  3. Japan
  4. Philippines
  5. Thailand

A few dependent territories have come out about their views on gay marriage in a more limited capacity. Gay marriage has been allowed in Bermuda, the Faroe Islands, Guam, and Puerto Rico.

Another dependent area is having a view on the subject in Northern Ireland. There are no laws against same-sex marriage on Northern Island. 

However, they are not recognized as legal marriages. Northern Island allows same-sex couples to register as domestic partners and enter into legally recognized arrangements known as civil unions rather than marrying one another.

Homosexuality is punishable by law in certain nations due to their opposition to gay marriage. When it comes to homosexuality, the majority of nations in Africa do not allow it. In many African nations, being a member of the LGBTQ+ community may land you in jail for the rest of your life.

Also See: Countries Where Christianity Is Illegal 2022

It is possible to face the death sentence for being gay, even in the most severe circumstances. Many Asian countries, as well as a few Eastern European ones, share this trait.

It’s not illegal to be homosexual in Russia, but the government has a lot of limitations on LGBT individuals, which still censors relationships that are not heterosexual.

CountryLegalization Year2022 Population
United States2015334805.2690
United Kingdom201468497.9070
New Zealand20134898.2030
South Africa200660756.1350

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top