ASEAN Countries | Association of Southeast Asian Nations 2022

Known as ASEAN, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a confederation of Southeast Asian countries. The organization’s mission is to help these countries maintain and build their economies.

In the year of its inception, 1967, the organization was formed. There were five founding countries at the time of its establishment. The alliance was formed to help stabilize the area during the Cold War.

ASEAN Countries

10 Southeast Asian countries are now members of ASEAN. Economic and trade expansion is the organization’s primary goal, with free trade agreements for all its members. Members of the area will also find it simpler to travel inside the zone.

All member nations have signed a treaty prohibiting the development of nuclear weapons. In addition, most people have signed up for a counter-terrorism agreement. In addition, member nations are encouraged to collaborate on technical and scientific matters.

The Center for Biodiversity is tasked with managing the conservation of the environment and animals.

In the early days of ASEAN’s formation, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand were the founding members. PNG and Timor Leste are the only observer countries.

Also See: Apostille Countries 2022

As a whole, ASEAN has a population of more than 622 million. One of the greatest economies in the world, and it is predicted that by 2050, the region’s economy will be the fourth largest in the world.

It also boasts the third-largest workforce in the world, after only India and China in terms of size. The area covers more than 1.7 million square kilometers of land.

Country2022 Population

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top