5 Things You Should Know About: Oceania

Oceania is one of the seven continents that make up the Earth. It is made up of 14 nations that are all physically located in the Pacific Ocean’s southern area, and it is made up of over 10,000 islands.

These island countries include Papua New Guinea, Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Samoa, the Soloman Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu, in addition to Australia and New Zealand.

1. Australia is by far the largest country in Oceania…

Australia is fully submerged under the equator (an imaginary line dividing the Earth into Northern and Southern hemispheres).

Australia is commonly referred to as “down under” due to its southern position. Another intriguing fact about the name “Australia” is that it comes from the Latin phrase Terra Australis, which means “Southern land.”

2….As a result, Australia is Oceania’s largest city.

Sydney, Australia, is the biggest urban center in Oceania, with a total land size of 4,775.2 square miles (12,368 square km). This city, which is located on Australia’s eastern coast, serves as the state capital of New South Wales.

It was formed in 1788, and according to 2019 figures, it has a total population of 5,312,163 people living in a density of population of 1,112 people per square mile. Sydney is home to around 65 percent of all people in the state of New South Wales.

3. Its Tallest Point Is In New Zealand

Aoraki/Mount Cook, which is situated in New Zealand, is Oceania’s tallest peak. This majestic mountain, also known as Aoraki, reaches a maximum height of 12,316 feet at its highest peak.

The Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park was established in 1953 and has 19 mountain summits with elevations over 9,840 feet, as well as 72 glaciers. The peak is known among the Maori of the South Island as Aoraki, which means “cloud piercer.”

4. It Has A Diverse And Unique Fauna And Flora

Oceania is home to a rich collection of animals and plants.

The common wombat, a marsupial endemic to southern and eastern Australia and Tasmania; emus, the world’s second-biggest bird species by height; koalas, a plant-eating marsupial; the platypus, a partly aquatic mammal native to eastern Australia and Tasmania.

The kookaburra, a tree kingfisher bird species; and red kangaroos, Australia’s largest land mammal Coachwood, also known as fragrant satinwood or tarwood, the grass tree, with its long flowering white spikes.

The cabbage-tree palm, a fanned palm tree with huge glossy green leaves, and the waratah, a vibrantly scarlet flower unique to Australia, are examples of natural flora in Oceania.

5. The Population Is Diverse, With Some Common Trends

Approximately 73 percent of Oceania’s population identify as Christians. The rest of the population follows a variety of faiths, including Hinduism, Islam, Buddhism, Jainism, Judaism, Baha’ism, and a variety of traditional Indigenous belief systems.

In 2018, 37 percent of New Zealanders identified as Christians, with the remaining 48 percent claiming no religious affiliation. According to 2016 statistics, 52 percent of Australians identified as Christians, while 30% claimed no religious affiliation.

Citizens of various Pacific island communities were much more likely to be Christians. In Micronesia, for example, 93% of people identified as Christians. In Polynesia, the percentage increased to 96 percent.

Oceania includes much more than just white sand beaches and palm palms. Each of the archipelago’s numerous islands has its own distinct characteristics and Indigenous traditions to learn about.

Visitors visiting these faraway locations will be awed and inspired by the diversity of cultures that populate these nations.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top