Top 10 Amazing Sharks You Never Knew Existed

Sharks are one of the world’s most beautiful and misunderstood creatures. Sharks are sometimes viewed as ferocious murderers or human-eating predators, yet they are essentially peaceful and quiet creatures that avoid people whenever possible.

From the small dwarf lantern shark to the enormous whale shark, there are over 1,000 distinct shark species in the world’s oceans and seas.

The following is a list of 10 odd shark species you may not be aware of. Each shark is distinguished by its distinctive look or unusual behavior.

Here are the Top 10 Amazing Sharks You Never Knew Existed

1. Shark Leopard

While not as unique as some of the other sharks on our list, the leopard shark is a lesser-known shark species, owing to its restricted habitat. Their primary habitat is from the Oregon coast to the Gulf of California.

They may be seen in shallower bays and coves, such as those at La Jolla, during the warmer months, particularly during the breeding season.

Leopard sharks get their name from the black saddle-shaped patches that run down their backs and fins. The dark grey or black patterning on an otherwise silver body is reminiscent of leopard spots.

Leopard sharks, unlike actual leopards, live in nomadic schools or groups. They may grow to be four to seven feet tall, but since they are thin and sensitive, they seek safety in a huge group.

2. Shark in Pyjamas

This specific shark species may seem to be made up, yet it is a real species recognized scientifically as Poroderma African. The unique stripes that run longitudinally along with their bodies from head to tail make these sharks stand out.

Because the dark and light striping mimics typical striped pajamas, this pattern is most likely what gave the sharks their name.

Pyjama sharks have two dorsal fins that are significantly farther back on their bodies than other sharks, which have that famed fin around halfway down their bodies.

These sharks are likewise on the smaller side, reaching a mature size of two to three feet. They are supposed to be indigenous to the South African coastline and live in the southeast Atlantic and western Indian Oceans.

3. Basking Shark

After the whale shark, the basking shark is the second biggest fish in the ocean. They may grow to be enormous, reaching up to 45 feet (15 meters) in length and weighing over 10,000 pounds (4.5 metric tons).

The term “basking shark” comes from its habit of floating gently over the ocean surface during the summer months. The sharks were given their name because they looked to be basking in the sun’s warmth.

Basking sharks, like their whale shark relatives, filter large volumes of water using gill-like filters in their mouths. They can filter up to 4,000,000 pounds of seawater per hour, eating plankton and other small sea creatures.

4. Spotted Wobbegong

Spotted wobbegong sharks have yellow-green and brown markings that resemble a camouflage pattern. This coloring allows them to blend in with the reefs where they reside and hunt.

Wobbegongs have two dorsal fins, one below the pelvis, a small tail fin, and broad pectoral and pelvic fins.

Their habitat is mostly in the eastern Indian Ocean, near the southern Australian coast. Wobbegongs have a low, flattened body and a flat head that resembles that of a catfish in many aspects. Nasal barrels, as well as dangling tassels on their body and head, are present.

5. Catshark Chain

The chain catshark is a fluorescent ground shark that utilizes natural luminescence to attract other sharks of its sort. Like other sharks, the chain shark is light grey in appearance, however, it has a dark greyish black pattern across its body that mimics a chain link fence pattern.

This patterning aids the shark’s concealment while it’s resting on the ocean’s bottom amidst debris and rocks, and the chain pattern also resembles the reflected forms created by light passing through the water.

Chain catsharks may grow to be around two feet long and reside in the western Central Atlantic and northwest Atlantic Oceans.

6. Shark Zebra

Zebra sharks are a misnomer since their patterns and markings change with age. Zebra sharks have a dark brown and yellow stripes on their backs when they are young, and it is these stripes that are said to have given the shark its zebra moniker.

When the sharks reach adulthood, their stripes vanish and their skin becomes yellow-brown with black circular spots, similar to that of a cheetah or leopard.

8. Sawshark

A sawshark is a shark with a long saw-like snout that gives it its name. The long, thin rostrum that protrudes from its head is ridged with sharp saw-like teeth that it employs to slice and strike down its victim.

Saw sharks come in nine different varieties, but they all have a distinctive saw-like snout.

Saw sharks are sometimes mistaken for the sawfish, which have a similar appearance and a saw-like snout. A sawfish, on the other hand, is a ray, whereas the saw shark belongs to the shark family.

There are two basic techniques to tell the two species apart. To begin with, sharks’ pectoral fins (those on the animal’s side) are not attached to the shark’s head, but ray’s are. Sawfish do not have barbels on their saws but saw sharks have.

9. Shark Tiger

Tiger sharks are named after two things. Tiger sharks resemble tigers when they are young since they have black striped patterns all over their body. As the shark develops, the stripes vanish, leaving the shark looking silver-grey.

The young’s striped stripes assist to shield them from predators until they are mature enough to be huge predators themselves. The second reason these species are called after tigers is that they are fierce hunters.

Even though sharks seldom bite people without provocation, tiger sharks are responsible for the second largest number of human assaults behind great white sharks.

Tiger sharks may grow to be 10 to 14 feet long and weigh 850 to 1,400 pounds, and they can consume almost any form of food, which is one of the reasons they are so dangerous.

They generally avoid people, preferring instead to pursue sea turtles, fish, stingrays, and clams, among other aquatic creatures.

Check out: Are Sharks Mammals?

10. Shark Epaulette

Epaulette sharks are a distinctive form of shark for many reasons. They are tiny and thin, measuring around three and a half feet long.

For starters, they get their name from a big white-bordered black area below their pectoral fins that look like a military epaulette. This is part of a big spotted look that aids in their seabed concealment.

To ward off predators, the big epaulette patches are designed to resemble enormous eyes. Epaulette sharks are one of the few sharks that can walk.

Of course, these sharks do not move like legged organisms, but they may use their exceptionally powerful pectoral fins to propel themselves off rocks and coral while hunting for food.

The shark’s fins are used to make it seem as though they are strolling around reefs and ocean bottoms.

Others – Shark Blue

Blue sharks are migratory and reside in open water. They have a vast range and may be found in practically every section of the ocean.

They may grow to be 10 feet long and dwell in both temperate and tropical glasses of water. The blue shark has large pectoral fins and is long and thin.

These sharks got their name from their dark blue tint, which helps them blend in when swimming on open seas. Their bellies are also incredibly pale, almost white, to blend in when seen from underneath.

When required, their long, thin structure allows them to travel fast through the water, and they may be quick predators. Smaller prey, such as tiny fish and squid, are preferred by blue sharks.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top