Barbary States 2022

The Barbary States are made up of four countries. The Barbary States, which are all situated on the continent of Africa, comprise.

  • Algeria
  • Morocco
  • Tripolitania
  • Tunisia

Berbers were the original inhabitants of the Barbary States. The Barbary Coast was formerly a Berber homeland by European countries and the general public. To describe the four nations that made up the Barbary States, this term was used.

Many pejorative names were given to those who lived in the nations that made up the Barbary States. Berber’s original word for the group of people translates to “barbaric” in Arabic and Greek, which is exactly what the phrase means.

A large number of pirates and slave traffickers would congregate in the waterways of the Barbary States. Slave traffickers and pirates from the Barbary States planned attacks on foreign ships passing between the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea.

As the ships passed through the area, they would board them and assume charge of them. As a method of demonstrating their ferociousness in defending their homeland, the Berbers also assaulted ships laden with valuables they planned to plunder, such as slaves, foreign goods, money, etc.

There will come the point when tourists from across the world know they may anticipate the assaults as part of their travel plans. From the sixteenth century through the nineteenth century, these conflicts raged. The assaults became known as the Barbary Wars when they grew more frequent.

Table of Contents


Arab-Berbers are living in Algeria, a country in northern Africa. Native Americans make up 98% of the population, with just 1% of the total population being non-native.

Berber and Arabic are the two most regularly spoken languages in Algeria, while French and Algerian Arabic, or Darja, are also widely spoken.

Algeria has a semi-presidential government structure described as a unitary, semi-autonomous republic. The president of Algeria is Abdelkader Bensalah, and he is now in charge of the nation. In addition to the president, Noureddine Bedoui serves as the country’s prime minister.

The Parliament of Algeria is made up of the two chambers that make up Algeria’s system of government. As in the United States, Algeria has two tiers of government: the House of Representatives and the Senate.

Algeria’s legislative branch consists of the Council of the Nation and the People’s National Assembly.


The Barbary States of Morocco, sometimes known as the Kingdom of Morocco, is a unitary constitutional monarchy.

Thus, Morocco is a monarchy with an elected monarch and a prime minister in charge of the country’s administration. Saadeddine Othmani is the current prime minister of Morocco, while King Mohammed VI is the current monarch.

The House of Councillors and the House of Representatives make up the legislative body of Morocco. Arabic and Berber are the most widely spoken and official languages of Morocco.

However, you may also hear Hassaniya Arabic or Moroccan Arabic Berber. However, although some Moroccans are fluent in these three languages (French, Spanish, and English), they are considered foreign languages in Morocco.

In 788, the Isrisid family members established Morocco as a dynasty under their dominion. The Alaouite Dynasty took control of Morocco in 1631. On April 7th, 1956, Morocco declared its independence from the United Kingdom.


Once part of the African republic of Libya, Tripolitania is a Barbary State. Tripolitania was a section of Libya during the early to mid-1990s, when Italian authorities administered the nation on the other side of the river.

At the time, Cyrenaica and Fezzan were Libya’s other two administrative regions. Later, Tripolitania was seized by various parties once it was liberated from Italian sovereignty in 1963.

Nowadays, Tripolitania has several different governorates, which are essentially districts. Tripolitania’s five current governorates are:

  • Jabal al Gharbi
  • Thomas
  • Misrata
  • Tarabulus
  • Zawiya

Tripolitania, the largest and most populous of Libya’s three provinces, has long outnumbered Cyrenaica and Fezzan in terms of population. For the most part, the people of Tripolitania are descended from Arab-Berber ethnic groups. Ghadames, Jebel Nafusa, and Zuwara are the most Arab-Berber densely populated areas in Tripolitania’s Tripoli.


The Barbary States of Tunisia, or the Republic of Tunisia, is located in the Maghreb area of Africa. Tunis, the capital of Tunisia, is situated at 36°49′ N and 10°11′ E in the country’s geographic centre.

In Tunisia, like in Algeria, the majority of the people are Arab Berbers. Most of the inhabitants in the country are indigenous, with about 2% being Jewish or European in origin.

Although the majority of the population of Tunisia speaks Arabic, there is also a strong preference for the Tunisian Berber language. Some inhabitants can also communicate in French. Islam is the most widely practised religion in Tunisia, although Sunnis, Christians, and Jews exist.

On July 15th 1705, the United States of America was officially established. The Assembly of the Representatives of the People of Tunisia is the country’s legislative body.

Tunisia’s administration system is characterised as a unitary semi-presidential republic, with a president and a prime minister at its helms. Beji Caid Essebsi is Tunisia’s president-elect, while Youssef Chahed is the country’s premier.

Country2022 Population

Also Checkout: Average Work Week by Country 2022

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top